Pick My Pocket

Words and Music by David Harley, copyright 1976

No MP3 yet

Got no fare
for a boat or plane
I got shoes to walk
but I’m here just the same

Buddy, you can pick my pocket
got no greens to lose
just a headful of empty
and a mouthful of blues

I was looking for a highway
I can make it down alone
just like every hobo, sewer-rat
and doggone rolling stone

Buddy, you can pick my pocket
got no greens to lose
just a headful of empty
and a mouthful of blues

Got a new way of spelling
ecstasy
E is for Exit
and the rest is for free

Buddy, you can pick my pocket
got no greens to lose
just a headful of empty
and a mouthful of blues

Oddly enough, the last verse has nothing whatsoever to do with drug abuse/MDMA… (I don’t think I’d heard of MDMA then!)

Leave a Reply

