Down to the River [demo]

Down to the River: copyright David Harley, 1981

Another example of the sort of song I never write. I’m not really sure where this one came from. When I was singing with Anna (Lyn) Thompson in the 80s we were going to work this one up as a duet, but never really got to it. So I pretty much forgot about it until recently, so for a while there was just a very rough-and-ready demo here. The present demo, however, was recorded back in the 80s, and the voice was in better shape.

I won’t go down to the river/anyway not yet
There’s too much else to do and the water’s cold/and I don’t want my feet wet
Don’t want to get my feet wet

I won’t go down to the river/I guess I really should
But the sand’s so warm between my toes/and you know it feels so good
I know it does me good

Come on down to the river/it can’t do you harm
You’ve got to learn sometime to sink or swim/and the sun will keep you warm
The sun will keep you warm

I won’t go down to the river/you know I can’t go down
The water’s so still, the sides so steep/I’m scared that I might drown
So scared that I might drown

Come on down to the river/the road’s so hard and rough
If you keep your head and your hands are clean/surely you can’t drown in love?
You can’t drown in love

I can’t go down to the river/I surely can’t go down
My soul is parched but my body aches/and I just know I’ll drown
I know I’ll surely drown

Come on down to the river/it tastes so sweet and cold
Come on down before it gets too late/and wash the mud out of your soul
The mud out of your soul

We’ve got to get on down to the river/we have to learn to trust
Got to wash away all the doubt and fear before the whole damn’ world dries up
Before the world dries up

We’ve got to wash away all the doubt and fear/before the whole damn’ world dries up…

Another example of the sort of song I never write. I’m not really sure where this one came from.

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World

Leave a Reply

