Hobo Moon

Hobo Moon: Copyright David Harley 1973
No MP3 at present

You’re not concerned with freedom
Or the nature of reality
The first pint of beer
The first cup of tea
That I or someone like me
Lets you scrounge
Will wash the metaphysics
From your mouth

I met you in a bar where I was playing
Some place long gone
Then you turned up six months later in my local
Back at home
Same old tired jokes
Same old scraps of tune
Living by the same old slogans
And the same old hobo moon

How you must have despised the conscience money
That I spent
A pint or two, a pie
God knows how many cigarettes
And my lady of the time
Never really understood
Just what I felt I owed you
To let myself be used

And forty years on
I’ve never really understood
Just what I felt I owed you
To let myself be used

[Alternative last verse}
But I’m not concerned with freedom
Or the nature of morality
An hour or two from now
I’ll be looking for another place to be
And if I could be you I’d find a home
for my own vagrant dreams
Only to find soon enough
Even that’s not all it seems

Leave a Reply

