Long cigarettes, cheap red wine [demo]

Long cigarettes, cheap red wine: Copyright David Harley, 1971
I think this was originally written on banjo (no! don’t leave yet!) but I couldn’t resist trying it on my new resonator guitar…

And this is a more recent version with the words slightly amended, played on a ‘normal’ acoustic:

You sing your songs / the stage is bare
There isn’t / anyone out there
From time to time / it just seems that way
And I run out / of songs to play

Forget the musak / and the beer
The open mouths / the grudging cheers
There isn’t / any better way
To freeload / your life away

Back in / 1969
I lost someone / I thought  was mine
That’s the price / I had to pay
When I ran out / of songs to play

Goodbye old friend / I have to leave
Just to prove / that I’m still free
I’ll see you / in a year or so
And buy the round / you say I owe

The long cigarettes / the cheap red wine
The melodies / you say are mine
And if you find / somewhere to be
I hope / you’ll save a place for me

Leave a Reply

