Age of the Hero

Age of the Hero: Words and Music copyright David Harley, 1973

Deep down I know I should forget you
Get out with my ego intact
My head knows the end of the game
Is historical fact
But my heart never quite seems to make it
I can’t seem to learn to let go
It’s a one-way ticket to nowhere
But where else to go?

I took someone else to a party
In search of a two-way high
And stayed for a while in search
Of an alibi
Slipped out for some air and some distance
Got to thinking and wondering and then
I wasn’t surprised when I got back at last
And she’d gone home with somebody else

Now I lie on my dressed and smoking
Watching dawn seeping in from the East
And the age of the hero is over
I can drop that pretence now at least
And I wait for the future to tell me
Whether angels are still to be found
And I’m trying hard not to start thinking
That there’s not enough love to go round

Leave a Reply

