Terminal Glissandi

One of the curious things about my re-ignited enthusiasm for acoustic slide guitar – blame my recently acquired Gretch Bobtail – is how many of the songs I do that way are about death and graveyards. ‘Oh Death’, ‘Pretty Polly’, ‘Weeping Willow’, ‘Going Down Slow’, ‘One Kind Favour’, even the more uplift-y things like ‘How can I keep from singing’ and ’12 gates to the City’. Maybe it’s just something about the sound of the slide against the strings. But I’m not sure I want to continue following this ‘Reuben’s Train’ of thought.

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World
ESET Senior Research Fellow

Leave a Reply

