Rainy Day Blues [demo]

Rainy Day Blues: Words and Music copyright David Harley, 1973

Not really a blues, as you might gather from the fact that one version adds some bouzouki, not commonly used in that particular genre. (Hm. I think I may have set myself a challenge.) I actually changed the last verse quite recently as when I finally came back to the song (this afternoon, after about 30 years…), the original words struck me as slightly misogynistic. Well, I was young…

For Lillian, 30 years too late. 😦

This is a version with just basic guitar:

This is the same version with some overdubbed bouzouki: an instrument I’ve only recently added to my arsenal, so not very well executed, but I think it might go quite well with a bit of work. Maybe different lead instruments for each break…

Some days are like a melody
But I can’t seem to hold the key
I don’t mind losing
I just wish I had a little more to lose

So I spend my day trying to keep  myself amused
Sitting here picking at a rainy day blues
I don’t mind losing
I just wish I had a little more to lose

It seems the road to fortune never ends
You play God all week and golf at weekends
I don’t mind losing
I just wish I had a little more to lose

And if we quit the rat-race we could have a ball
But you know those big wheels grind so small
I don’t mind losing
I just wish I had a little more to lose

You say you love me but it seems sometimes
You stuff my mouth with kisses and my ears with lies
I don’t mind losing
I just wish I had a little more to lose

Leave a Reply

